Wednesday, February 4, 2015

Retrofit Comics Announces 2015 Publishing Line and Subscription Drive



Philadelphia, PA – 4 February 2015

Acclaimed independent publisher Retrofit Comics is pleased to announce their official 2015 line of twelve comic books, graphic novels, an art book, and an anthology. Retrofit Comics  also officially launches their 2015 subscription drive, with a discount for early subscribers.

The line includes work by: 
Olivier Schrauwen http://ollieschrauwen.blogspot.com/
Matt Madden http://www.mattmadden.com/
Steven Weissman  http://sweetchubby.blogspot.com/  
Laura Lannes http://www.lauralannes.com/
Kate Leth http://kateordie.tumblr.com/
Laura Knetzger http://lauraknetzger.com/
Yumi Sakugawa http://www.yumisakugawa.com/
Sophie Franz http://www.sophiefranz.com
Maré Odomo http://mareodomo.com/
Andrew Lorenzi http://andrewmakescomics.tumblr.com/  
Future Shock anthology; edited by Josh Burggraf http://joshburggraf.tumblr.com/  
Box Brown http://boxbrown.com/

A subscription for all 12 books is $75 and available at the Retrofit Comics website: http://retrofit.storenvy.com/collections/29642-all-products/products/11887716-retrofit-2015-subscription-12-comics

A discounted subscription for $65 is available through Friday, February 20, 2015 with the use of the code: EARLYBIRD

Shipping is free within the United States and discounted shipping is available to Australia, Canada, Mexico, New Zealand, and the UK, for only $12. Shipping internationally otherwise is $36.

Each subscription also includes a free copy of any title from Retrofit Comics 2014 publishing line, which can be sent to a friend as an outreach program.

A digital subscription is also available for $35. http://retrofit.storenvy.com/products/11894007-retrofit-2015-digital-only-pdf-subscription-12-comics

Retrofit Comics founder and editor Box Brown said, "2015 is our most ambitious year to date. We've got 12 artists on the schedule and all kinds of surprises coming too. The first two books of our 2015 schedule are Mowgli's Mirror by Olivier Schrauwen and Drawn Onward by Matt Madden. Both books are exceptional comics by masters of the craft. We're planning this year to create books of all sizes as well. Steven Weissman's book, coming out at San Diego Comic Con, will be over 100 pages. The rest of the 2015 artists are all extremely talented personal favorites: Laura Lannes, Kate Leth, Laura Knetzger, Yumi Sakugawa, Sophie Franz, Maré Odomo, Andrew Lorenzi, and a special collection of Future Shock anthology; edited by Josh Burggraf. Oh yeah! Also, we're releasing a collection of my sci-fi comics (reprints and new work) called An Entity Observes All Things."

Jared Smith, co-publisher of Retrofit Comics, said, "This is a big experiment for us, we are hoping we will get more subscribers by dropping the cost of the subscription and shipping. For it to work, we need to get lots of subscribers! One of the biggest problems with mailing so many print comics each year is how expensive shipping has become, especially internationally. We were able to get some great help with shipping from Matt Emery of Pikitia Press and Simon Moreton."

Retrofit Comics will be debuting books throughout the year, often in conjunction with the premier alternative comic conventions, including MOCCA, TCAF, SPX, and CAB.

About Retrofit Comics

Retrofit Comics was founded in 2011 by Box Brown to publish and distribute floppy alternative-comics. Jared Smith joined as co-publisher in 2013. Retrofit Comics have been nominated for several awards and won three Ignatz Awards.

Retrofit Comics are available at quality comic book stores in the United States and Canada, online at http://retrofitcomics.com/ andhttp://www.amazon.com/ and http://www.comixology.com They are distributed by Spit and a Half http://spitandahalf.blogspot.com/ and Birdcage Bottom Books http://www.birdcagebottombooks.com/.

Contact information:
Retrofit Comics
Jared Smith
1520 U St. NW
Washington, DC 20009
retrofit@bigplanetcomics.com
Twitter: @retrofitcomics
http://www.retrofitcomics.com

No comments:

Post a Comment